The Quincy Exchange Club held its annual Character Champions awards luncheon featuring winners from seven area high schools. The Character Champions program was started by the Exchange Club 15 years ago thanks to former member Jim Benz and is designed to help individual athletes into highly effective team members by demonstrating sportsmanship and character on and off the field or court.

Here is the list of the  2019 winners:

Name                        High School               Future College

Nathan Obert          Quincy Notre Dame        Illinois State

P.J. Hillebrand         Mendon-Unity                 Nebraska

Hayden Neisen        Central                           John Wood

Lauren Hinthorn      Payson-Seymour            Missouri

Jarod Salrin             Quincy High                    Illinois State

Delanie Lantz          Southeastern                  Quincy University

Reece Dunker          Western                          Kansas

All seven candidates also submitted an essay to determine the winner of a $1000 Scholarship.  After review by a committee, the award went to P.J. Hildebrand.

More From 100.9 The Eagle, The Tri-States' Classic Rock Station